Workplace Relations

The Workplace Relations Commission

The Workplace Relations Act 2015 (No. 16 of 2015) established a independent , statutory body called the Workplace Relations Commission (WRC). The WRC subsumes the function of the Labour Relations Commission (LRC), the National Employment Rights Authority (NERA), Rights Commissioners Service (RCS), the Equality Tribunal (ET) and the first-instance (Complaints and Referrals) functions of the Employment Appeals Tribunal (EAT).

The main objectives of the WRC are;

  • improving workplace relations
  • promoting and encouraging employer compliance with relevant enactments,
  • providing guidance in relation to compliance with codes of practice approved under Section 20 of the Workplace Relations Act 2015,
  • conducting or commissioning research into matters pertaining to workplace relations,
  • providing advice, information and the findings of research conducted by the Commission to joint labour committees and joint industrial councils,
  • advising and apprising the Minister in relation to the application of, and compliance with, relevant enactments, and
  • providing information to members of the public in relation to employment

The Commission’s core services include the inspection of employment rights compliance, the provision of information, the processing of employment agency and protection of young persons (employment) licenses and the provision of mediation, conciliation, facilitation and advisory services.